The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework supports our children from birth to five. It guides us in offering children opportunities to learn through a wide range of fun, practical experiences were children can observe, explore, discover and communicate in both the indoor and outdoor learning environments.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework has four key principles which underpin our approach at Ditton Nursery School:

A Unique Child: Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships: Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments:  The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development: Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.


Children are provided with a range of rich, meaningful first hand experiences, in which  they are active,  explore, and think creatively. We aim to develop and foster positive attitudes towards learning, confidence, communication and physical development. Our observations of children enable us to plan and  differentiate learning, as well as to enhance the continuous provision areas based on children’s current interests. The curriculum is delivered using a play-based approach. We plan a balance between children having time and space to engage in their own child-initiated activities and in adult led ones.  During play, practitioners interact with children to enhance / reinforce the activity; to support, extend, stretch and challenge children further. In planning and guiding children’s activities, we reflect as practitioners on the different ways that children learn and build these in our practice. We create a stimulating environment to encourage children to learn both indoors and outdoors.

Within the EYFS framework there are:

3 Prime areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

And 4 Specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


Please click on the links below to find out more about each area how we support learning within.


Communication & Language.


Physical Development.

Personal, Social & Emotional Development. 


Expressive Arts & Design.

Understanding the World


Click below to see some activities we have done

Supertato 2020.

Diddikicks Football Sessions 2020.

Bird Feeding 2020.


Then DfE have published a guide for parents to help you to understand more about your child's development and learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

What to expect in the Early Years Foundation Stage - A Guide for Parents. Click to open